2012: This Dragon is for You

Ten days into 2012 and I already feel behind.

I’ve written three blog posts on 2012 resolutions that I’ve abandoned in three separate note-taking iPad apps I’ve been trying to adopt.

But, let’s look back for a moment.

2011 was an incredible year of growth for me. I married the bearded, opinionated man of my dreams in October, spent the last year carving out a social media and digital marketing position at a national trade association, and watched from afar as an EF5 multiple-vortex tornado took out a large chunk of my hometown in May. Emotionally torn, the devastation in Joplin motivated my sister and me to partner with Events for Good in organizing our first fundraiser, Red 4 Joplin, a red tie event at DC’s Union Station to benefit tornado victims.

All in all, I can honestly say that there was absolutely nothing bland or slow moving about my life in 2011.

But what about 2012, the year of the dragon? This year seems to hold so much promise after a challenging year for much of the world, so here’s what I’m personally resolving to do:

This will be the year I blog more.

DigitalConfetti was born from my desire to share my own journey building a community manager/digital marketing role from scratch at a national trade association. So many friends from the association community stepped up to offer advice and share their knowledge with me over the past year and many did so indirectly by blogging, contributing to Associations Now, or hosting incredible tweet chats and web shows. Seriously, if I had a question, I googled it and would most often find the top three posts were from someone within the community I already knew. And of course, big thanks to my sister KiKi L’Italien for being the social media power house that she is and for always being on speed dial.

I will host and participate in tweet chats more.

I will read more fiction despite the many, many books on business and religion currently vying for my attention.

I will learn another language, even if it is Hebrew. – I’m currently going through the conversion process and haven’t been as gung ho about my weekly Hebrew study, despite my annual resolution to learn a new language.

I will visit two new countries I’ve never visited before.

I will worry less and laugh more. Risk taking is part of our job as marketers and as humans in life. Fear, failure, the negative attitudes you might encounter from your boss, colleague, or stranger – maybe it’s like that old exercise of picturing a crowd naked to get over stage fright or just remembering that most of us are self-absorbed at heart (short attention spans) – just push “publish” and get on with it. In the words of Townes Van Zandt, “To live is to fly, all low and high.”

Happy New Year, Friends!

Leave a Reply

