2014 – Year of the Cocktail

Okay, so it’s already March. It’s a good time to check in on the resolutions I created for myself in 2014, which I redefined this year. Resolutions should be fun according to Elizabeth Weaver Engel who inspired me through her Ignite session at ASAE Great Ideas last year to stop making boring resolutions (lose weight, blog more, play guitar more, etc.) and to start resolving to learn something new. According to Elizabeth Engel, she’s never broken a fun resolution (learning to play poker, belly dancing, riding a motorcycle) since she started making them years ago. She also stressed that those typical resolutions (blog more, lose weight, be a better mom, etc.) are actions you should be taking now if you truly desire them.

Inspired, I decided this year to embrace the cocktail. Hey, I couldn’t drink for 9 months while carrying Sadie and also got tired of having dinner parties where despite my best efforts at having a full bar, a key ingredient always seemed to be missing. The pros of learning a new cocktail recipe a month? We could slowly enhance our bar stock, learn a new cocktail recipe, keep the ole blog alive, and sip in splendor after the little one is fast asleep for the night. I also was realistic with myself that as a working new mom it was an easily achievable resolution.

1779059_10152268579936457_1512568942_n

The resolution has stuck so far and my husband has happily gotten on board. In fact, I would say he’s really driving the resolution at this point with purchasing proper martini glasses, jiggers, shakers and stirrers, as well as the best alcohol each month for the mission.

January we started with the classic – The Martini. Since February is my husband’s birthday month and a wintery month, we chose one of our favorite cocktails The Manhattan. Upcoming blog posts on the two drinks to come!

What are you resolving to learn this year?

Do you have a good cocktail recipe you’d like me to feature?

 

 

2 comments
  1. ladyfaceladyface said:

    Yay! I love this resolution.

  2. The Negroni has been my cocktail of choice lately — an Italian classic.

    My “to learn” list is a long one that includes deepening my professional knowledge (writing, content marketing, association management, etc.) and exploring new personal activities (canning, some type of crafty/DIY pursuit, gardening, canyoneering, etc.).

Leave a Reply

